Free

3rd Archivoz Symposium (First Session)

Actions and Detail Panel

Free

Event Information

Share this event

Date and time

Location

Location

Online event

Event description
Citizens in Archives Workshop

About this event

Speakers:

  • Tomás Mac Conmara, Director, Cork Folklore Project
  • Ceri Humphries, Digitally Unlocking Nature’s Archive, UK Natural History Museum
  • Rebecca Bailey, Programme Director, Towards a National Collection, Arts & Research Council of Scotland

Date/ Time:

3rd November 2021

  • From: 5 pm (UK) - 6 pm (EU) - 12 pm (New York, USA) - 9 am (Los Angeles, USA) - 11 am (Lima, Peru)
  • To: 7:30 pm (UK) - 8:30 pm (EU) - 2:30 pm (NY) - 11:30 am (LA) - 1:30 pm (Lima, Peru)

Abstract:

In recent times, efforts have been made to include the general public in the process of archival development. This has been done formally, via crowd-sourced metadata creation projects, or substantively, through the efforts of oral historians and local history associations, which in many cases are managed and curated by volunteer workers who are members of the communities represented. We believe this is a trend that will grow as digital workspaces and networks increasingly define the process of archival development. This workshop aims to bring together projects and research around citizen archives. We hope to offer a space to think, learn, and discuss. Between the presentations, the participants will have time to discuss the different talks in smaller break rooms, and at the end there will be a chance to debate with the speakers. We look forward to seeing you there!

3rd Archivoz Symposium (Second Session)

Share with friends

Date and time

Location

Online event

{ _('Organizer Image')}

Organiser SEDIC - ARCHIVOZ

Organiser of 3rd Archivoz Symposium (First Session)

Save This Event

Event Saved